A stumble on the road… almost 8months

So… I recently decided to take out my crochet braids due to the lack of full care I was able to provide for my hair. I felt my hair was screaming “Wash me!” “Deep Condition me!”. So, I was compelled to take down my hair and give my baby its full treatment it deserved.

I take down process was very simple and I did an amazing job not cutting my actual hair out. But the moment I went to detangle my twa, CHUNKS of hair was shedding. I only had the crochet braids in for 3 weeks and it just seemed like WAY TOO MUCH hair was leaving my scalp!. I was very concerned at first so I immediately did some research on deep conditioners that would help with shedding as well as the itchy dry scalp I was dealing with.

After doing some research and looking at what I had in my house, I made my own homemade conditioner.

  1. I washed and detangled my hair as normal.
  2. I rinsed my hair with warm water and apple cider vinegar (to relieve my scalp of the dry and itchiness)
  3. DEEP CONDITIONER  HOMEMADE TREATMENT
    1. 2 eggs
    2. Mayo
    3. Nutmeg
    4. Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque
  4. I massaged the treatment into my hair and scalp
  5. Placed plastic bag over hair to create a green house effect
  6. Sat under hair dryer for about an hour
  7. Washed Product out and flat twisted hair using Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curling Gel Souffle and Cantu Shea Butter, Tea Tree & Jojoba Hair and Scalp Oil. 

It felt like LOVE on top of my head. My curls were moisturized and the natural curls were at its best. (I always find on wash day my curls are the Fleekiest)

That is pretty much my wash and co-wash routine. I am still trying to figure out will this be a weekly or monthly routine. I am thinking I will at least do a Warm apple cider vinegar rinse weekly to calm the itchy my scalp has experienced over the past 6 months. Any suggestions?

It is definitely a journey that requires me to learn along they way. I don’t have the answers and everything for me has been trial and error. But through the hardships, I am joyful and still LOVE my hair.

Comment and let me know what is your wash routine or do you have any suggestions or how I can minimize breakage and shedding. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “A stumble on the road… almost 8months

  1. prettysickforablackchick says:

    My wash day consists of loss of patience. Since my hair is so thick and it has grown longer, sectioning has become my best friend. I can admit that no way day is the same as the next though. Well not in my case. lol. I’m almost 2.5 years in and I’m still going the trial and error route. One thing I can day is that twist outs get better the longer you give them to dry. Also, any bad twist/braid out is a good one because at least you’ll have stretched your hair enough to try again for better results. Stay strong! ✊

  2. prettysickforablackchick says:

    My wash days are sporadic. I shoot for once a week, but often succeed at every other week. I keep my hair moisturized, make sure it’s sealed in by oils. I’m 2.5 years in and trial and error is still my route. Since my hair is very thick and it has grown so much, sectioning is my bff. As far as twist/braid outs, I’ve found that a good leave in, some water, and a good sealant left over night (to completely dry) give the best results. Though if you you fail, I’d say it isn’t failure because you have just stretched your hair more and already detangled it for a better result for the next try. Stay strong on your journey, it’s so worth it! ✊

Leave a Reply

